Halloween Movie Lists!

Happy Halloween! In celebration, Liz and I have jotted down literature and film suggestions for the ghoulish holiday.

Liz: Here are some movies and a few books that would go great with a cool and windy fall night.

Films:

  • The Mummy’s Hand
  • The Phantom of the Opera
  • Arsenic and Old Lace
  • Rebecca
  • The Wolfman
  • The Blob
  • The Creature from the Black Lagoon
  • The Uninvited
  • The Ghost and Mr. Chicken
  • The Canterville Ghost
  • Abbott and Costello Meet the Invisible Man
  • Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein
  • Abbott and Costello Meet the Mummy
  • Ernest Scared Stupid
  • Topper Returns
Books:
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelly
  • Dracula by Brom Stoker
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Jaz: I concur with Liz on the second, third, fourth, sixth, seventh and last films. Also Jane Eyre. The rest I can’t say because — I’m ashamed to admit this — I haven’t seen/read them.
I will only add:
  • For Jane Austen fans, Northanger Abbey (satire of gothic romances, containing a dark gloomy abbey, a mysterious death, a tyrannical father and a damsel in distress … sort of). Watch the latest BBC adaptation starring Felicity Jones if you’re watching the film version.
  • The Little Shop of Horrors (1960). Feeeed me. FEEEEED MEEE!!!
  • The Thing from Another World (1951). Great film and unintentionally humorous, as is the case with many classic horror films.

There would be more, but the truth is many horror films frighten me with so little effort that I generally avoid them, even black and whites. But I see a few classic horror B films in my future … maybe. I’ll leave the light on.

Leave a reply

